Lakota Origins and Development

An extension of the study of Oceti Sakowin origins is the study of Titonwan, or Lakota, origins. Today there are six Lakota tribes federally recognized by the U.S. government, and one First Nation in Canada. These seven Tribe/First Nation governments comprise the descendant nations of the Titonwan people of the Oceti Sakowin confederacy. Five of the six Tribes are in South Dakota, and one is in Montana. The First Nation is in Alberta. The Titonwan oyate of the Oceti Sakowin confederacy was originally subdivided into seven Lakota oyates. Central to these oyates’ histories is the Black Hills. Lakota spiritual narratives and winter count records document a deep heritage in the Black Hills region. This content will be the basis for the third handbook in our Foundational Resources for Educators series.

Above: Wind Cave


Left: Lakota Camp Circle.